Suvereto is a charming medieval village, located on the gentle slopes from the valley of the River Cornia to the metalliferous hills with a mild climate. The forests of cork trees, with aromatic Mediterranean scrubland give the landscape a unique footprint: cork, here called Suvero, gives the village its name.
The origins of Suvereto date back to before the year one thousand; Counts Aldobrandeschi, gentlemen of the rising castle, erected in the twelfth century the tower on the top of the hill, from which the complex of the RoccaAldobrandesca started.
The urban development continued in the thirteenth century, in relation to population growth. Between the eleventh and fourteenth centuries in Suvereto, new walls were built, and the Church of San Giusto, the Castle, the Town Hall and the Cloister of San Francesco wereenlarged.
Suvereto has beenfor longtime feud of the Aldobrandeschi family, after adhering to the Ghibelline League (1237) the town became more into the influence of the Pisa Republic, who promoted the new castle fortifications in the last decades the thirteenth century.
Suvereto knew a period of further development between the fifteenth and the first half of the sixteenth century, at that time were built new churches, including the Madonna above the Door (1480) and those of San Leonardo and San Rocco (the twenties of the ’500) and had important artists such as Andrea Guardi who designed the marble shrine of the Madonna and Child, then placed on the sixteenth-century over the Fonte of the Angels.
From the mid-sixteenth century, in line with a process of depopulation and environmental degradation of the MaremmaSuveretosuffered a sharp population decline. At that time, the scenic and salubrious hill north of Suvereto, were built the village of Belvedere, by JacopoIV Appiani “to give courage to strangers to come to stay” and that attracted new residents from Modena and Parma.
For several centuries, from the late Middle Ages and the Napoleonic period, Suvereto made an integral part of the Principate of Piombino. In 1815 it became part of the Granducato of Tuscany led by Lorena, which remediations initiatives relaunched the economic and agricultural activities, resulting in a new phase of development.
In the second half of the nineteenth century was expanded the complex of the Church of San Giusto with the construction of the rectory and oratory which now houses the Museum of Sacred Art, was also demolished the ancient gateway to the city center, replaced with an arch.
After the unification of Italy, the late nineteenth and early twentieth century saw a strong spread of sharecropping system and the organization of agricultural activities intolarger farms, and the birth of the great steel industry in Piombino, which profoundly altered society and economy of the entire Val di Cornia providing a further opportunity of attractions to peoples. After the difficult period of World War II, the proximity of the industrial reality of Piombino, generated the illusion of a more urban and more comfortable life, and started a new phase of population decline.
In the 70s, there has been a strong recovery of local traditions, again giving voice to the rural world that has always been the natural setting of Suvereto’s life, and today is reflected in the quality of the territory and its products, making the entire area of the Val di Cornia, a place where integration between tourism and environmental and cultural resources is now one of the best expressions.
Member of Classic International Hotel
GDS bookings welcome
Amadeus: CH GRSCOR
Sabre: IH 68206
Galileo: CH 47792
Worldspan: IH GRSCO